Review: Monsters Exist

I’ve said it before and I will continue to shout it from the rooftops. I love horror. I don’t know what it is about it that I love, there are just so many ways that one can scare another through film, television and even books and I love it. Stephan King was my first taste of the horror genre in books and I haven’t looked back since.

Recently, as in between yesterday and today, I read Monsters Exist, a horror anthology that I absolutely loved and is featured on Deadman’s Tome. Which is an awesome blog by the way, featuring monthly stories and entries on the horror genre. Check it out and seriously, go read Monsters Exist if you like horror! Who is the author you ask? Well, that’s the best part. There is no, one author. It is a collection of 14 short stories, all revolving around a monster of some kind.

From rat kings and the bubonic plague, to goatmen, mothman, kelpies, giant spiders (ew!) and chupacabra, this collection has a little bit of everything! Each story is different, and each one resulted in goosebumps on my part, some are even nightmare inducing, specifically the spiders, oh god, the spiders!

The best part though? The descriptions. Any good author knows that descriptions can be the difference from a best seller and a flop. The authors in this collection are fantastic at describing what is happening. There were times when I could clearly picture what was happening, or have an idea of how the air smelled, which at points would be seriously disgusting. It is so well done that I’m trying to figure out why, and how I don’t know many of these authors! That is going to change after today!

I don’t really want to go into what all the stories are all about, I want you guys to go and read it because it is phenomenal! I find it very hard to find any fault in what I just read. If you like monsters, horror, and urban legends, this really is something that you need to give a read. I highly recommend it!

I look forward to reading more from Deadman’s Tome and the authors featured in Monsters Exist.

If you want to give it a read, you can find it here on Amazon, and don’t forget to check out Deadman’s Tome.

Happy Reading,

Canada’s Bookworm

 

Keep up to date by checking out my Facebook page, and if you have a book that you’d like to see me read, or are an author who has a book you’d like me to read, you can use the form on my contact page and I will get back to you usually within a few days.  

 

Leave a Reply

