1984: A Classic that speaks for itself

I feel like I should apologize for having fallen behind. Things have been extremely hetic, I co-produced a documentary about superhero films for college, a close family member passed away (R.I.P Aunt Karen), I’ve been looking for a job and last Monday, I finally graduated from college! But enough of that, here are my thoughts on George Orwell’s 1984.

I honestly don’t know how I got out of high school without reading 1984, but I’m glad that I finally got to it. For the (very) few who haven’t read it, 1984 follows Winston Smith as he deals with oppression in Oceania, where citizens are examined by the Party on a daily basis for every action they do, with Big Brother leading them.

People in Oceania are banned from being individuals abd Winston chooses to voise his opinions and displeasure in a diary. Eventually, he ends up in a relationship with Julia, a co-worker, and then ends up having the unwanted attention of the Opposition. I could tell you more, but you’ve either read it already, or will read it yourself.

Honestly, I didn’t love, nor did I hate this book, which makes me glad that I didn’t have to read it in school and probably a part of why it took so long to finish. I’m still glad that I read it though.

I did make a lot of connections between the book world and the world that we live in. Today, almost everything that you do online, or in public can be tracked. Webcams can be hacked, websites tracked, CCTV is becoming more and more common in cities and you can be tracked with the GPS on your phone. In addition to this, the NSA have their hands in everything and freedom of speech is getting less and less ‘free’. I really could go on forever about this, but I wont. This mirrors the book in the way that Big Brother always knows.

Its because of these similarities that I think the book is important. Why? Because it can serve as a cautionary tale, too much surveillence or a lack of choice makes for unhappy citizens and eventually rebellion.

I don’t really have too much to say about 1984, I think the book speaks pretty well for itself.

Stay tuned later this week when I review Erik Hofstatter’s short story, Fountain of Drowned Memories.

After that I’ll be reading The Martian by Andy Weir.

 

Happy Reading,

Canada’s Bookworm.

Leave a Reply

