Twists, Turns and Adventure! Oh My!

I am so excited to finally be able to write this entry, and let me warn you now there WILL be spoilers so reader beware!

When I first announced that I was going to try to read 100 books in a year, I asked my friends and family through Facebook, what books they’d suggest. One such friend, suggested Brent Weeks’ The Night Angel Trilogy. Thank you Cameron. THANKY YOU!

Mr. Weeks, I doubt that you will EVER read this, but if you do, I just want you to know that this book is amazing, seriously, the last time that I loved a book this much it was when I was 12 and reading The Lord of the Rings Trilogy for the first time. You sir, have me hooked.

It may have taken me what seemed like forever to read, but I picked up the first in the trilogy, The Way of Shadows, and fell in love. Yeah it took me over a month to read, but hey, life got busy. When I did have the time to read, I found it incredibly difficult to put down.

This book was just amazing. It is long, its dark, its brilliant! There were twists, turns, some very unexpected moments and all of the action and fighting one could want, with just a hint of romance. It was just perfection.

But what’s it about? Well, I’ll tell you! The Way of Shadows follows the journey of Azoth, an orphan living in the Warrens of Cenaria City.  When we first meet him, he’s trying to steal money in order to pay his dues to the Black Dragon Guild’s Guild Fist, Rat. If you can’t pay, you get beaten, pretty brutal.

One night when he’s trying to get enough money for his dues he overhears a confrontation between the best assassin in the city, known as a wetboy, Durzo Blint, and several enemies. Blint catches Azoth and quickly makes sure that Azoth won’t say a word about what he’s seen.

Following this, Azoth’s friend Jarl (remember him, he’s important later!) gives him money that he’s saved to become Blint’s apprentice. As you might imagine this doesn’t bode well for Jarl, and later their other friend Doll Girl is affected as well. I won’t go into detail from here but just know this.

Azoth does become Blint’s apprentice and spends 10 years training with him, abandoning his life as an orphan and learning all about how to kill, about fighting and poisons. He quickly stops being Azoth, and becomes Kylar Stern. As Kylar, he befriends Logan Gyre, the son of a duke, who also becomes important.

Unfortunately for Azoth, as he trains he seems to lack a talent, which is his magical ability.

I could tell you how he finds his talent, because oh boy does he find it, but that’ll take the fun out of reading it for yourself.

Below, however, you will find the spoilers I spoke of. Stop reading now if you don’t want to know!

First off, near the end of the book there was a total, ‘holy twist Batman!’ moment. Actually there were a few of these. The first comes when Blint, while trying to antagonize Azoth enough to have him kill him, claims to have been the person to beat and mutilate Elene (Doll Girl), and holy crap, does that ever get Azoth into kill mode. During the epilogue, however, Azoth does ask Elene if Blint did indeed cause her scars. She denies it. It was always Rat.

I’d be lying if I said that this part threw me for a loop. It drove me crazy! How on earth could your mentor be the reasoning for your love interests scarring and turn his back on you? Well it all makes sense if you read it, but it just makes you go “Oh my gosh, what just happened? Why?” I love it.

Secondly, one of the main antagonists in this book is Roth, Roth is in the beginning of the book, one of Rat’s bigs, basically a henchman doing his dirty work. Well, its revealed that the adult Roth? Yeah, he’s not Roth my fellow bookworms, nope, he is Rat! The very boy that Azoth thought he’d killed.

I found myself incredibly sad near the end of the book, I honestly thought Azoth was going to die, which technically he did, however he’s given the choice to return to the land of the living. There are going to be unknown consequences, but he chooses to live as the Night Angel, and in doing so also chooses Elene.

They now must flee to safety, as Roth(Rat)’s army did succeed in taking the castle and the city. I assume this is where we pick up in book two.

If any of my readers EVER have the chance to pick up this trilogy and give it a read, I hope you do. I truly loved this book and I’m sure I’ll love the rest of the trilogy as well.

Check out Brent Weeks’ website brentweeks.com and  his twitter @BrentWeeks!

For now, though, I must move on in my book reading journey. Stay tuned for the next book that I’m reading: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher.

If you’re not already following my reading journey, be sure to check out my Facebook page Canada’s Bookworm and my twitter @SarahJonasson.

 

Happy Reading,

Canada’s Bookworm

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

