Clandestine Tales

It seemed to take forever, but I’ve finally finished reading the first book on my list. Area 51: An Uncensored History of America’s Top Secret Military Base by Annie Jacobsen as very interesting, starting all the way back to the creation of the much talk about Area 51. It goes beyond the myths and the legends of aliens and takes a close look at the technology that has been developed on the site.

As a lover of history, Jacobsen’s book gave me into a place that otherwise I only had some knowledge and that was based on alien conspiracies. Something that I found to be particularly interesting and admittedly my favourite part the book, was the insight into

operation_crossroads_-_able_001

Able, detonated on July 1, 1946

the nuclear testing at Bikini Atol, which is a part of the Republic of Marshal Islands.

The first series of tests began here in 1946 under the code name Operation Crossroads. They were testing to see how naval ships withstood a nuclear blast. The first of the bombs was detonated at 520 feet above the target. I ended up going online and researching more about this because I found it to be so interesting.

Jacobsen also takes a lot of time explaining the development and tests of the Lockheed U-2 which was created at the base in order to achieve a high altitude

lok_u-2

The Lockheed U2 in 1955

of flight than anyone else. Also, a very interesting read and worth looking into more if you’re into that kind of thing.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book, I had a little trouble getting into it, normally I wouldn’t have an issue but it made it hard to push through this one. The book is full of secrets, many, that even though I had researched Area 51 in the past, I hadn’t known. Other than the overuse of the word clandestine, I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the base and hope to find more books on the topic, and maybe even read more from Annie Jacobsen herself.

Now I’m on to my next conquest, The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

