Why I Read and the Hunt for the Elusive Book

Way back when I was in public school,  I was going through a lot, well who am I kidding, I still am, but not the point. The point is, at 6 or 7 years old and onward, I was going through so many things, from bullying to being a sexual abuse survivor and losing the friends I thought that I had. That’s a lot for a kid to take. Eventually, this all led to today where I have depression.

I had an excellent coping mechanism however. Books. Books are my escape, as I’m sure it is for many others.

Through book, I can travel to faraway lands, go on journeys, watch characters grow and face troubles that more often than not were more problematic than my own. In fact, until I was 8 years old, I was convinced that my job when I grew up was going to be to follow Frodo and the Fellowship across Middle Earth to destroy the ring. Obviously that couldn’t happen.

I also just enjoy reading overall.

Books make me happy and that’s pretty much it in a nutshell. Sure it sounds boring but hey, it is what it is. I’m sure it sounds cliché and all.

Moving on though, today I found myself on one doozy of a mission. Back when I was 11 or 12, one of my best friends would lend me books she thought that I’d enjoy. She leant me one book that I really enjoyed and was part of a series. For whatever reason I only got to read the first one and I wanted to read the rest as part of my 100 book challenge.

Do you think she or I could remember the name of it? If you said no, you would be correct. I could vaguely remember the cover and a bit of the plot.

Some weird guy on the colourful cover who takes in this kid to teach him magic.

Yup, that’s all I had to go on. I Googled just that, and repeatedly came up with nothing, as you can imagine, I was frustrated and it became more of a “I want to know just because it’s bugging me now” kind of thing.

Eventually I ended up on GoodReads.com going through lists of books for young adults in the 90s and early 2000s.

244572

Charmed Life, book one in the  Chrestomanci series.

It was there, about nine pages into my third list. Diana Wynne Jones’ Chrestomanci series book one Charmed Life. It’s ridiculous the amount of relief I had just because I found it. I kind of had the cover right, there was a weird man on it, it just wasn’t as colorful as I remembered. I’d also forgotten the top hat.

My biggest mistake is the book that I thought came out in the 90s, originated in 77. No wonder I couldn’t find it. I may need to re-read the first one if I’m going to take on the others, of course if I do, the first one will not count towards the 100.

All in all, it took me about 4 hours to find it. It was worth it in my mind.

Anyway, that’s all for today I just wanted you to know why I read and how I wasted spent four hours trying to track down a book.

Stay tuned for an upcoming post about Annie Jacobsen’s Area 51 An Uncensored History of America’s Top Secret Military Base.

Leave a Reply

